THREE-PART/MIDDLE PART CLOSURES VS FREE PART! Must Read!!!!!

If you are confused as to what the difference between a three-part/middle part and a free part closure is…then you MUST read this!! I will tell you EVERYTHING you need to know about each one! 

Firstly, I want to say thank you to everyone that has been reading my blogs and giving me feedback! I truly appreciate the support. Please let me know in the comments if you have any questions or requests!!! I love you all!

Lately, I have been noticing a lot of people (including my clients) lacking an understanding of what the difference between the various types of lace closures are. So here are some basic definitions/descriptions of each.

PREVIOUSLY STATED DEFINITIONS (from “All About Closures” blog also on my site!)

What is a closure? A closure is a section of hair (about 3-5 inches wide/long) ventilated in either lace, swiss lace, or a silk base made to imitate the scalp and give full protection to your hair! *UPDATE* Nylon closures are apparently a thing now too! They can be sewn, taped, or glued down. If your hair is broken off, natural, colored, etc. a closure is the best option for you to maintain the health of your hair while you wear weaves. They are priced the same as a single bundle of hair! ($60-$120) No more worrying about blending, frizzing, coloring, heat damage, or tracks showing! (almost too good to be true, right?)

Free Part: Closure has the ability to have a part anywhere.

Pre-Parted (Middle, Side, Three-Part): If the closure is full lace, the part can still be placed where you like using a little water and re-parting with a comb. These just provide a pre-plucked, pre-made part to make installing a little bit easier. 

Non-full lace (Beauty Supply Store): There are many “lace” closures in stores that are not fully lace. By this, I mean they have a definite part that cannot be changed because there are either tracks or too much material surrounding the part. STAY AWAY FROM THESE! They usually range from ($20-$50). *UPDATE* I have recently found that beauty supply stores are now carrying closures with legitimate lace material! Just watch out for those phony ones.

Lace closures: Lace closures have visible knots and a stretchier base. It is significantly thinner than silk which gives it the ability to lay flatter, thus last longer. The swiss lace option you may see on “AliExpress” is a more natural looking lace. It is slightly darker and slightly thicker than regular lace. It is usually more costly than regular lace. This is the more popular choice most likely because of the price difference.

These descriptions and definitions are still applicable & very true… with the exception of this one: “Pre-Parted (Middle, Side, Three-Part): If the closure is full lace, the part can still be placed where you like using a little water and re-parting with a comb. These just provide a pre-plucked, pre-made part to make installing a little bit easier.”

Here are the pros and cons of a PRE-PARTED CLOSURE. The cons entail why I’m not too much of a fan of them anymore! 

Pros: 

  1. Depending on the installation method, a three-part closure can allow you to easily switch your part from side to side (IF IT IS LARGER THAN 4X4)

maxresdefault

  1. Depending on the method used, it can make it a little easier for the stylist to install.
  2. Makes it easier for the client to “keep up with their part.”

Cons: 

  1. For me, these closures do NOT make installing easier. They actually it much more difficult. It restricts me to one or three set parts that look UNNATURAL. Even when they are installed very well…who naturally has a part THAT perfectly straight and square?

12276928_1649172765342074_1390858074_n

  1. It requires the stylist to sew the closure down with the pre-part lined up exactly with where the client wants their part. If it doesn’t perfectly align then the install looks bad!

IMG_0333

This is MY work! The part furthest to the left is the pre-parted part! It did not align well enough with the center of her head (I’m very picky) so I had to move it less than a cm to the right. As you can see it definitely shows and is highly annoying!!! To fix it, I plucked the part anyway and used a black hair spray to hide the pre-parted part.

_MG_0342.JPG

  1. With three-part closures, you can usually see the other 2 pre-parted areas after installation.

Screen Shot 2016-08-16 at 4.30.41 PM

Even though this is BEAUTIFULLY installed, you can still see the middle part along with the other part. Link to this tutorial: https://youtu.be/Rvkff-onUC4

  1. I have noticed that pre-parted closures tend to be more fragile than free-parts. The area that does not have hair ventilated onto it (the pre-parted area) has ripped several times on me!

So how do you know if you should get a pre-parted closure or a free-part? 

In my opinion, the only “down-fall” to a free-part closure is that the client has to try a little harder to “keep up with the part” once they leave the stylist. Otherwise, it is more convenient for the stylist since they can FREELY part it, usually the cheaper option, and has the ability to look more natural.

I always use free-part closures with my units and I recommend them to all of my clients because I work best with those! If I were to use three-part closures, I wouldn’t be able to make my full wig units with a lace closure look this natural:

Screen Shot 2016-08-16 at 7.32.08 PM Screen Shot 2016-08-16 at 7.51.46 PM

This is a 5×5 free-part lace closure on a HairSewPerfect unit!!! Absolutely NO leave out! THIS can be parted anywhere you desire!

The stylist can still install the free-part the same way they install the three-part if you want to be able to change the part.

It is always best to ask your stylist which one they prefer. Me personally, I don’t install closures to where my clients can switch the part anymore because I have found that those methods make the closure grow back faster.

NOT EVERYONE HAS THE PROPER HAIRLINE TO BE ABLE TO DO THAT TYPE OF INSTALL EITHER! Ask your stylist which closure/installation method would be best for you! Everything does not work on everyone. 

If you have any more questions or concerns please feel free to contact me!

IG: @hairsewperfect  YouTube: YasmineReigns

 

 

 

10 thoughts on “THREE-PART/MIDDLE PART CLOSURES VS FREE PART! Must Read!!!!!

    1. Thank you! Yes I sell them and customize them myself! They have the look of a frontal but the convenience of a closure. I would only recommend them to be used with wig units only though. They last longer that way.

      Like

  1. Thank you so much! You really covered that whole frontal parts very well. I thought a free part would be in best interest for myself and u totally confirmed it. Thanks again! By the way your hair units look amazing!

    Like

  2. Thank you, you really clarified what I was so confused about. I live in Petaluma CA, do you know a hair extension stylist in this area?

    Like

  3. Thank you so much for sharing it’s my first time purchasing a closure so I was confused at which one to choose.. Thank you so much now I know what to get and I know the difference between the all of them…. Much love ♥

    Like

Leave a Reply

