Let My #WhatWig Units Change Your Life!

What is a “What Wig” Unit?

Over the past 4 years, I have been endlessly working to learn everything I can about lace installation methods and making them look natural. I have applied this knowledge to wig-making; thereby, creating the “What Wig” unit. These units have obtained this name because they are not the ordinary lace front, part-less, stiff, “sit on top of your head” wigs you may be thinking of. With proper, simple application, these units will appear as if they are growing out of your scalp. When you see it, I intend to make you say “Girrrrrl what wig???” lol!

Already convinced? Place order here: https://docs.google.com/forms/d/e/1FAIpQLScemPpga1ArBrmq6U6A-HeP7Xk0AETjPMWkg-qQbaB5TuMFDw/viewform?c=0&w=1

What Wig Specs:

    • Carefully constructed using quality nylon thread on a breathable cap that fits snug to your head
    • Can be sewn down or worn securely for daily removal (elastic band can be added)
    • Closure customization is included
    • No hidden glues, tapes, or adhesives
    • Versatile: part can easily be switched; installation and daily removal make it effortless to change your look
    • Protective: no excess tension or pulling
    • Inexpensive
    • Lasts up to 12 months with proper care and maintenance
    • Will always lay flat (flatter than a sewin, honestly!)
    • Promotes healthy hair: provides easy access to care for hair underneath

 

  • First installation is always free

 

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

      

What Wig Units vs. Sew-ins

 

WIGS

Pros:

  1. Always reusable.
  2. Secured by being sewn around the perimeter braid.
  3. Have the option of daily removal.
  4. No tension placed on the edges to sew closure down
  5. Appointment time is cut in half (1 hour)
  6. Re-installation fee is very inexpensive
  7. No leave out, heat, or excess products ever required
  8. Can easily fix/resew unit.
  9. Part or style can be easily changed

Cons:

  1. Hair must be provided ahead of time (may cause inconvenience).
  2. Over time, the elastic on the unit may stretch from wear (can be fixed).

SEW-INS

Pros:

  1. Install lasts longer at one period of time (with proper closure maintenance).
  2. Won’t have to do much tampering with the install
  3. One appointment/no consultation needed

Cons:

  1. Puts extra tension on edges to keep the closure flat
  2. Sewing through the braids can cause extra breakage (friction and tension)
  3. Long sitting time (2 ½ hours)
  4. Closure must be touched up after 3 weeks to remain looking fresh. Touch-up requires excess sewing
  5. “Stuck” with this one style for at least 5 weeks

How do I order my What Wig unit?

What you need to have:  

  • Bundles
  • Closure
  • Money

What do you need to do?

Step 1: Purchase your bundles!

  • Must be in GOOD condition (remember this is an investment! You want the best hair for your unit)
  • Use the same amount you would usually use for a sew-in.            

Recommended: 10”-14” (2 bundles), 16”-22” (3 bundles), 24”-up (4 bundles)

  • Closures: ONLY use Free Part Lace Closures (Silk based closures are too thick and do not match the scalp of an African American woman. Three part/pre-parted lace closures have a very unnatural “square” part.)

I DO supply closures. Here are your options:

Regularly parted closure (part can be moved by shifting the unit): $65

IMG_8687

Frontal-illusion closure (lace hairline, flip-over look, does not last as long as regular closure): $90

IMG_8686

*Lengths start at 12”. Add $5 for each additional length.*

Step 2: Complete the simple order form provided here. You will receive a confirmation e-mail. https://docs.google.com/forms/d/e/1FAIpQLScemPpga1ArBrmq6U6A-HeP7Xk0AETjPMWkg-qQbaB5TuMFDw/viewform?c=0&w=1

Step 3: Ship/drop off your hair! Once I receive it, you will be sent an invoice/quote to the e-mail address provided.

Step 4: If you will not be receiving an install, I will style and send pictures to ensure your satisfaction. You must pay the invoice (cash is fine for pick-up) BEFORE I ship the unit back to you. Once you pay, I will ship, and send the tracking number immediately. If you ARE receiving an install, your payment is not due until your appointment day. All closures must be paid for upfront.

Step 5: Enjoy <3! Send pics and reviews!

FAQ’s

  • Girl…what if my wig flies off?!

Lol!! Your wig won’t fly off if you take the right precautionary measures! The most secure method is to get it sewn down. This is what I do when I have to dance. If you are just doing daily wear/removal, an elastic band will suffice. If you are going to do a lot of head movements or may get a tug or two on your hair, I would recommend an install. (Your first one is always free!)

  • Do I have to buy a wig cap or any other supplies?

No, the only thing you have to provide to me is your hair and closure (if you choose not to purchase one of mine).

  • How long does it take?

You should have your hair to me at least 3 days prior to the day you need your unit. Anything sooner than that will result in a $15 rush fee. This applies for up to a day before the date needed.

  • How does the install work?

You will set an appointment with me by texting (318)607-0801. Your first install/braid down is free. Once you arrive, I will quickly and painlessly braid your hair in a solid foundation pattern (the same for a sewin). I will then sew the unit down around the perimeter of your foundation (around the edges) just to provide security. No pulling. No tension is added.

  • Do you ship?

Yes, currently I ship nationwide. Shipping is only $5 extra.

  • Do you have the option of providing hair?

No, currently I do not supply hair. I can only supply closures. I will have a list of recommended companies at the bottom of this document.

  • Do you have wigs on hand?

I usually do not keep wigs on hand. If there is one that I am selling, it will be heavily promoted on my instagram. Just keep on the lookout! Otherwise, any unit I post is one already sold to a client.

  • How long do they last?

The unit itself will last you about 12 months with frequent, proper wear and care. After that 12 months, it can be touched up and revived to extend your use! The install lasts about 3 weeks before it needs to be resewn. The resewing literally takes 10 minutes! If you don’t have it sewn down, it’ll look fresh every time you put it on!

  • Do you color?

Contact me personally about coloring services via (318)607-0801.

  • How does the payment work?

My preferred method of payment is cash. I will send an invoice or accept payment through PayPal. PayPal does charge a fee that will be added to your total. You can choose to pay with cash. Just select that on the order form. I also have Chase QuickPay. The payment isn’t due until you receive the unit!

  • Where are you located?

I’m between Shreveport and Baton Rouge. On top of my hair business, I am also a college student and a dancer so I am always moving around. Luckily, if you are getting a wig unit, you will be able to easily book an appointment with me/get a unit! I can do these on my own time and schedule a quick appointment for you!

  • How can I contact you?

Call/Text: (318)607-0801

Instagram: @hairsewperfect

www.hairsewperfect.wordpress.com

  • Do you do frontal wigs?

I offer a closure that looks like a frontal and has that versatility. I do not work with frontals at all. You should check out this article I wrote BEFORE you get any kind of frontal install. No bias, just facts I’ve learned from experience and professionals. https://hairsewperfect.wordpress.com/2016/03/09/all-about-lace-frontals-why-i-think-they-are-overrated/

  • Do you recommend any glues or adhesives to lay the closure?

No, never! You will never need to use any adhesives or glues on my units! My goal is to make sure your unit is the healthiest, most convenient protective style you have for your hair! It will always lay flesh with your scalp so no need!

  • Can I use a three-part closure so I can switch my part? What about a silk based closure?

I prefer to only work with free part lace closures. You can switch your part by switching the unit. That is the best way to do it do you won’t have to pluck so many portions of your closure. Three part closures just look unnatural. They do not provide any more versatility than a free part closure. The same goes with a silk based closure. https://hairsewperfect.wordpress.com/2016/08/17/three-partmiddle-part-closures-vs-free-part-must-read/

  • How do I maintain the closure and keeping it looking good?

If you have it installed: Tie your hair down at night and use a light powder on your part to keep it looking natural.

If you remove daily: Once you put on the unit, make sure the closure lays perfectly with your scalp. Part your hair exactly where the part on your closure lays. This will make it look like it’s coming out of your scalp before you even put the powder on the part.

  • How will I know how to put on the unit?

First you want to make sure you have a proper foundation. Don’t put the unit on without your hair being FLAT! You wouldn’t sew a closure on top of a messed up foundation, so don’t do it with a wig and complain about it looking wiggy! It’s all about application (and my methods are super simple!)

I can show you/provide instructions on how to put on the unit everyday (or when you want to have it installed by someone else).

I hope you enjoy! Please let me know if you have any other questions/concerns! Get your unit today for the limited time price of $140!

-Yas ❤

Leave a Reply

